Wednesday, May 29, 2013

Monday, May 27, 2013

Memorial Day

Every year we have a day to remember soldiers who died in war, but I think if we really want to honor them, we will choose to stop fighting the wars that require their sacrifice.

Thursday, May 23, 2013

Transformation

                                                      
We create our destiny and we can change it.
 

Friday, May 17, 2013

Education


Educating the mind
 without educating the heart
is no education at all.
 
~ Aristotle
 

Thursday, May 16, 2013

Racecraft

 
Every day is a chance
to get it right.
Not by luck
but deliberately.
To make a better choice
than the one
 I made yesterday.
To not be beaten
 by my failures.
But to learn from them
and be
 a better me.



Wednesday, May 15, 2013

Deadening Field


Life
Don't shine
Keep me in this darkened state of mind
I will find my peace alone
And alone I'll spend my time
 
Things pass
Things die
But the memories stay behind
 
Closing my eyes
I choke on my thoughts
I grow deaf from the sound of my cries
 
Feeling who I am
Touching the pain locked inside
Dying in the grasp of desire
 
 

Monday, May 13, 2013

We Just Don't Care

It seems that we've made our decision regarding what to do about climate change. We are going to do nothing and hope that the effects will be manageable. The history of humanity is filled with shortsighted, illogical choices. We can now add another one to our quiver.

~ Mark Serreze, Director, National Snow and Ice Data Center

Thursday, May 9, 2013

savanna


savanna
the spaces between your trees
are wide
your canopy is open
yellow light reaches ground
where grasses grow
their stems leave
their leaves die
reborn in magic soil
I wander this open plain
searching the horizon
 

Wednesday, May 8, 2013

Food

 
If man made it, don't eat it.
 
~ Jack Lalane
 

Friday, May 3, 2013

Promise

I have a me to keep a promise to.
 
~ Laura

Wednesday, May 1, 2013